Ignore me now

For us, it was love at first sight.

When the owner of the flat next to mine decided to rent it, I was a bit unhappy, thinking who knows what kind of creep would come to live there! But soon, I realized that renting the flat was the best idea that the old, irritating owner could ever have. Because he moved in it.

His name was Akash. And I’m Dharati; we’re so meant for each other. Akash was almost six-feet tall and had a tattoo of his name and a heart on his right arm. How would I love to see my name next to it? He had a strict gym routine; I bet he has six-packs under his t-shirt.

Every day, he would come back from his gym and that’s when I would open my door, pretending to collect newspaper and milk from my doormat. But, never once he paid any attention to me. He would just stand there, looking at my door for a second and go inside his flat. But, I didn’t give up. Every day, when he would go out or come back from the office, I made sure to open my door and wait for him to notice me. But, he never once looked at me. He behaved as if I never existed for him.

It was Diwali and he brought gifts for every family on our floor. He rang everyone’s doorbell, talked with them for a minute or two, gave them a box of sweets, and moved on to next door. This was my chance to introduce myself. So, I waited patiently for him to come. Eventually, he came in front of my flat, played with the doorknob for some reason; tried to open it for two-three times, and left without buzzing my doorbell. That broke my heart. What on earth had I ever done to deserve this?

Though I was hurt, I consoled myself, saying that maybe he’s shy, maybe he feels awkward around girls. I decided that I should make more effort. Maybe I should convey that he needn’t have to be so formal.

But one night, he came home late. I was watching through the peephole of my door and saw a girl with him. I could see that they were drunk. Maybe she’s family, I said to myself. But, when I cracked the door open and saw him kissing her.

Furiously, I banged the door shut. I could hear them talking outside.

“Akash, what was that sound?”

“Ah, babe just ignore. It’s the door. There’s something wrong with it. Opens and closes on its own.”

“Who lives there?”

“I guess no one. It’s been empty for years. Ignore it, I do. Let’s go inside.”

That night I could not sleep at all. What did he even saw in that slut? What does she has that I don’t? Why does he notice her and never me? But, I decided that I must not give up and should let him know how deeply I loved him.

In pursuit of that, one night when he was still in his office, I unlocked his door and sneaked inside. At around midnight, I heard the door open, he threw his laptop bag on the sofa and headed straight to have a quick shower. I decided to wait for him on his bed; I thought how glad he would be seeing me on his bed. But, when he dried himself and changed into his pajamas, he got under the blankets and slept right beside me, without even taking a glance at me. Within a few minutes, he was snoring.

This made me mad as anything. I didn’t deserve this. He just can’t treat me like this anymore. All my love for him turned into vicious hatred. I got up from the bed and brought back a knife from the kitchen. He was still snoring, his arms rested at both sides. I could see his tattoo, Akash and little heart next to it. I took the knife and started to carve letters of my name next to the heart, thinking this would get his attention.

In the morning, I was in my flat, peeking through the peephole and he was right beside me, not ignoring me anymore.

“Now we would be together, forever and ever,” I said to him, watching police take away his body. They declared that it was suicide and thought that he carved his lover’s name on his hand before dying. Akash ♥ Dharati.  

2 thoughts on “Ignore me now

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.